Are my discus stunted?

Discussion in 'Problems with Discus' started by Hee hee, Jul 10, 2017.

1. Hee hee

Hee hee

Hello

I started a thread earlier today about buying some small discus, and some questions arose about the discus I currently have.

Two of them have eyes that seem too big for their bodies, the rest seem fine to me. I'm new at fishkeeping, though I did a little research before starting.

I have two sponge filters in there (like the one in the first picture - I used to have two power sponge filters, but I don't think they liked the current).

Taking the pictures was a bit harder than I anticipated - the discus got somewhat spooked by the camera.

The second picture is of one of the two that look like their eyes are too large.
    You can't really see it in the picture, but the others have outgrown him.

What do you think?

IMG_0204.jpg
    IMG_0211.jpg
    IMG_0214.jpg

Last edited: Jul 10, 2017
  2. Guest

3. BoelderBeestie

BoelderBeestie

Start feeding them with a good quality food. Feed them so that you have to clean their feces daily. Start with once in the morning and 3-4 times in the evenings. What are you feeding now and how old are they?

4. Discusnut

Discusnut

Pic one not that bad. Others are stunted. As stated before lots of good food and water changes will give the one some hope. Others won't grow much. But they look healthy

Sent from my HUAWEI Y360-U72 using Tapatalk

5. OP
    Hee hee

Hee hee

When I fed them beefheart mix (twice a day), I changed about half the tank's water daily, after both feedings were done. They were in a 450 liter tank.

The beefheart was just too messy.

I switched to some "premium" discus pellets. Apparently this contains everything they need. After the switch I changed half the 450 liter tank's water every second day.

A few days ago, I moved them to a 250 liter tank. Since then I've only been changing about a quarter of the water daily (when I siphon out the poop).