Water Changes

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by Laure, Nov 6, 2009.

  1. Laure

    Laure Cyano Terminator

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    903
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Port Elizabeth
    Hi

    I want to know from those of you who do automated or semi-automated water changes. Do you add the water straight from the tap to the tank and then when done add dechlorinator? Does this not affect the fish for those few minutes while the tank fills up?

    Regards
    Lauré
     
  2. Guest




  3. butcherman

    butcherman Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,584
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Edenvale
    you need to perpare your water befor you add it

    otherwise you will have to add dechlorinator for the full volume of the tank for it to be effective
     
  4. slayer

    slayer

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    865
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Gauteng, Edenvale
    I add the water straight from the tap and dechlorinate while its filling. I only add enough dechlorinator for the new tap water I added. I have not had any problems. I use the hose to pump the water out and when I'm refilling also with the hose I don't rush it. I prefer the water filling slowly thus allowing the fish to adjust to the colder water. Works for me.
     
  5. Gareth

    Gareth Angel Freak

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,339
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Potchefstroom
    I do the same a Slayer straight from the tap but very slowly
     
  6. OP
    Laure

    Laure Cyano Terminator

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    903
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Port Elizabeth
    @slayer - so you have not had any issues with chlorine burn or temperature shock?

    What about guys who keep sensitive fish? Especially those who prefer higher temperatures like some of the South American fish?

    Currently I use a water preparation drum but with more tanks coming soon i can see this becoming an issue for me. I have a 4000L/h pump which I use to pump out water from my large tank in about 2 minutes for a 50% WC. Then I pump water again from the preparation drum with this same pump. This takes a bit longer because of a larger head hight. I will have to think about going straight from the tap soon with some more tanks to maintain. I also don't dechlor because I aerate my drum for a few days.
     
  7. slayer

    slayer

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    865
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Gauteng, Edenvale
    No issues. As long as its done slowly. I would add extra heating if I'm doing a extra large water change but don't do that often only if need be
     
  8. johan008

    johan008

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    685
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    JUKSKEI PARK - RANDBURG
    I also just add water straight from the tap and never had a problem before
     
  9. neilh

    neilh

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    JHB/Roodepoort
    Malawi's - 6m long siphon out the window into the garden. Use the hosepipe to fill. Add Safe to the last chamber of the sump, and let the water rise to the max fill level and start the pump

    So far no issues

    Discus - I use heated water, add Safe, Equilibrium and Discus Buffer. Mix around for 5 mins and pump into the sump. Level to max fill and start up the return pump. I'm also running granular peat. ph out of the tap is 7.6, tank ph is around 6.4

    Also no issues so far and i've had about 10 attempted spawns
     
  10. veegal

    veegal

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,215
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Cape Town
    We use 2 x 250L drums with a geyser thermostat, temperature controller and a pump to circulate the water continuously from one drum to the other. We usually let it circulate for approximately 24hrs and then fill the tanks. On a few occasions we have just waited for the water to reach the correct temp before using it but we do not have the same water issues as those in Jo'burg.
     
  11. butcherman

    butcherman Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,584
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Edenvale
    i live in jhb and i know not to trust the water ever!treat it befor it gets into the tank
     
  12. guido.coza

    guido.coza

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Hout Bay Cape Town
    Hi I also add water slightly temperated strait to the tank. We have in Hout Bay apparently heavely clorinated water because of the township right at reservoir and I never had any problems. But than i do max 10% WC at the time and "bubble" it in
     
  13. Donny

    Donny

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,279
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Churchill Estate, Parow
    Always run water straight from tap into tank and have never used dechlorinate. And fortunately have never lost fish.
     
  14. lithosza

    lithosza KilliNut

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Morningside, Sandton
    Eish. Are those fish still fertile?
     
  15. Donny

    Donny

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,279
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Churchill Estate, Parow
    :) no they all fine :)
     
  16. JaguarCichlid

    JaguarCichlid Jaguar Cichlid

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Port Elizabeth
    Laure
    I fill my 2 1.5m tanks direct from the tap in PE, no problems at all yet.....(Touch wood)
     
  17. Slojo

    Slojo

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,115
    Likes Received:
    24
    I never had any problems as well but my Brother-in-law did.
    Whether from temp or chlorine shock i am not sure.
    He did lose about 13 fish from his community tank.

    PS. He stays in Silverton in PTA and i In East Lynne - so Different reservoirs.
     
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2009
  18. slayer

    slayer

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    865
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Gauteng, Edenvale
    I am trying to breed my silver dollars so I had the water level at about 20cm in my 6ft. On saturday night I decidded to fill the tank. Took water level up to 45cm. Filled the tank very slowly, directly from the tap, must have taken about 70-90 min to fill. Only added dechlorinator. The 5 silver dollars didn't mind a bit.
     

Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Water Changes Forum Date
Shrimp and Water Changes Beginner Discussions Jun 14, 2021
Ode to water changes General Discussions Feb 22, 2021
No water changes? Plants do the job... Planted Tanks Sep 3, 2020
Water changes on 500L tank Beginner Discussions Aug 10, 2020
Waterchanges??? General Fish Discussions Mar 29, 2020
Purpose of water changes General Discus discussions Feb 18, 2020
Water changes Community Tanks Jun 18, 2017

Share This Page