Sump

Discussion in 'Beginner Discussions' started by Brydon, Jul 15, 2009.

  1. Brydon

    Brydon Black Ghost

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cape Town
    I've read about a sump ,but I don't know alot about it.I want to set one up for my tank. Ive got a 500 liter tank. Its 1m by 1m by 50cm on a stand which is 1m by 1m by 1m. How do i set one up.
     
  2. Guest




  3. speedz

    speedz In need of a fishroom....

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    747
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Durbz
    thanks for asking this question, i want to know if its useful in a freshwater tank also
     
  4. OP
    Brydon

    Brydon Black Ghost

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Pleasure. I don't know much about a sump at all. So any info will be appreciated.
     
  5. wito-zn

    wito-zn

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    527
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    DBZ
    A sump can be used for any tank but it is mainly used for big tanks like 1.5m and above. A sump is really just a big canister filter with different compartments for filter media. When setting up a sump there are different ways of making the water enter the sump. One ways is called an overflow. You have a small sectioned off place in your tank that works like a water fall but this can be a bit of a mess in power failures and then using water pump to pump the water back to the tank. You could use a water pump to pump the water to the sump but you then have to hide the pump in the tank which then takes away one of the reason for using a sump. When you use a sump you can put your heaters and hang over filters in the sump to create less clutter in the tank. But when putting your heaters in a sump it will use more electricity because the water does cool down when being moved to the tank. A sump can get expensive because of all the filter media you will need to use (like bio balls). If the person has a smaller tank it is better to use a canister filter as it is easier to keep clean. There is a whole lot more advantages and disadvantages just Wright freshwater sump in Google and there will be loads of info. Even search through the forums and you will find info.

    Hope this helps a bit:cool:

    Here is what my sump will be like for my 2m
    http://www.tropicalaquarium.co.za/showthread.php?t=868&highlight=sump
     
  6. Zafgak

    Zafgak Old fart

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,236
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Hi all, the sump lecture is well on its way - A LITTLE PATIENCE !!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  7. OP
    Brydon

    Brydon Black Ghost

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Thanks
    for my tank will it be best to make a sump or geting a external filter.
     
  8. Kuhli Loach

    Kuhli Loach

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Pretoria
    I would go for a sump - think it might work out cheaper than a external filter req for that size tank with much more filter media - and gives you a place to hide all your hardwear.
     
  9. OP
    Brydon

    Brydon Black Ghost

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Can you explain how exactly i make one. Thanks
     
  10. OP
    Brydon

    Brydon Black Ghost

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cape Town
    I went on google and searched all over for a sump. I found alot of information of salt water aquarium sumps, I found a few on freshwater aquarium sumps.Ive sort of put a few ideas together but im not sure if ive thought of everything.
    I want to have 100l sump(90l 40h 30w),with about 5 dividers. The first divider i want two fill up with bio-balls, the next one ill put filter floss, the next one ill put a layer of sand and plants and let bacteria and algae grow in there or ill breed shrimps.Then the next divider (don't know what else to put in, any ideas.)Then the last one ill put my filter(what would the best one be) ,heater and return pump(what would the best one be.)I want to house two oscars and a few compatible tank mates(any ideas). If there is anything im forgeting, please tell me.
     
  11. Zafgak

    Zafgak Old fart

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,236
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Brydon -swop the bio balls to where the filter floss goes and filter floss to bio balls - The floss gets rid of the particulates ( gunk) which means your bio balls do not get gunked up...( hows that for SERIOUS technical speak ) :0

    why are you putting a filter in your sump ??? The sump IS the filter.

    your return pump should pump more than 3 times the volume of the tank in an hour, remember to calculate the head loss.
     
  12. OP
    Brydon

    Brydon Black Ghost

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Oh ok thanks i will do that. What is head loss
     
  13. Zafgak

    Zafgak Old fart

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,236
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Cape Town
    head loss is how far the pump must pump UP into the tank
     
  14. OP
    Brydon

    Brydon Black Ghost

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cape Town
    How do i calculate that, and i just thought of an0ther queastion whats the best way to get the water from the main tank to the sump.
     
  15. Henk Hugo

    Henk Hugo

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    Messages:
    4,135
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Cape Town
    its normally on the side of the box of the pump that you buy....
     
  16. OP
    Brydon

    Brydon Black Ghost

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cape Town
    What will be the best pump for my tank and where can i get it in ct and what the price
     
  17. Zafgak

    Zafgak Old fart

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,236
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Brydon - To get the water from the tank to sump - The norm is to create an overflow box and drill the tank 40mm... If this is not an option a 100mm standpipe and 40mm siphon will work. Just get the design right.

    "I REALLY MUST FINISH THE SUMP LECTURE" :)

    The pump yo gonna need will need a minimum flow of 1500L/hr at a 1,5m head-

    How soon do you need it ???
     
  18. OP
    Brydon

    Brydon Black Ghost

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Thank you very much.
    Ill need it in about a month or two.

    I dont want to drill, so ill use a sandpipe and siphon.
     
  19. Zafgak

    Zafgak Old fart

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,236
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Just contact us when you need the pump
     
  20. Henk Hugo

    Henk Hugo

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    Messages:
    4,135
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Zafgak! you are due here in 16 mins dude :D driiiiiiiiive
     
  21. OP
    Brydon

    Brydon Black Ghost

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cape Town
    How much will it cost?
    ,because if you have then ill come get one sooner. Thanks
     

Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Sump Forum Date
Wanted: Sump tank Wanted/Swop/Freebies Jan 13, 2024
Block of filter foam for sump Anything DIY related Jan 5, 2024
Wanted: 1.8 m tank with sump Wanted/Swop/Freebies Dec 15, 2022
Sump vs large canister filter(s) Filtration Oct 12, 2022
Help setting up sump Filtration Aug 31, 2022
Wanted: 1.2m sump Wanted/Swop/Freebies Feb 13, 2022
700x700x410 cube for sale with sump Species Tanks Jan 12, 2022

Share This Page