Need help fast please

Discussion in 'Species Tanks' started by Martin1971, Aug 10, 2015.

1. Martin1971

Martin1971

Hi People. I'm a huge beginner and started a Malawi Cichlid tank 3 days ago. I bought at a local petshop near me. Started to read up about the fish I bought. Only now realizing I'm in deep waters with these fish. I really want to start off good. I bought 6 fish. 2x yellow with black in the top fin, 2x blue with black stripes and 2x with brownish marks all over them. They are currently in a 1.5 feet tank, 'bout 20L tank. I want to get a 4 feet tank with a canister filter. Any other advise will be great. Sorry, I know I'm a beginner and should post in beginner section, but I thought this is a species tank and need some advice in that catagory.

2. Guest

3. Jwh

Jwh

Welcome to TASA, you find plenty of advice on this site
    You first need to cycle your tank, if this has not been done, you can use the search facility on this site, or Google "cycling a fish tank", and you'll get plenty of advice. Do research on whatever you think you want to do before you do anything else, or buy any more stuff. if your fish shop sold you the tank and fish without telling you about cycling your tank, what type of fish you bought and the basic conditions and care of these fish, you need to look for advise elsewhere.

4. OP
    Martin1971

Martin1971

Thanks Jwh. Will do. I just bought the fish because they looked beautiful. I'm bit peedoff because I feel the owner of the shop should have rovided me with some info about these fish, since I told him I'm a beginner. He should have advised me to start off with other fish then later move on to these fish. But seeing that I have them, I want make this a sucess story :)

5. DS DG

DS DG