Nano tank advise (please help with setup)

Discussion in 'Beginner Discussions' started by Carp king, Oct 18, 2012.

1. Carp king

Carp king

Hi all

Im new to the whole nano tank world. I would like a few pointers on what to get?

I currently have a 1ft and a 1.5ft tank that is just standing around and i would like to use it i have a 50w heater and a small power head and airrator. what else do i need in terms of substrate lighting etc. I would also love to grow some plants in my tank but i have no clue. ive always used silk plants for my tanks before. i contemplating keeping plaaties guppys and neons in the tank.

Please any advise would be awsome.

2. Guest

3. cheekychops

cheekychops themasterofSAURON

Last edited: Oct 18, 2012
  4. OP
    Carp king

Carp king

What filter did you use? implanning on using a resun 200l/h foam filter for my tank which should do the trick and i have a small sonic air pump.

5. cheekychops

cheekychops themasterofSAURON

i got my nano with a diy modification sump filter on the back. (the compartments on the back of the tank)

6. Bazil

Bazil Bazil

Hi @Carp king,

Well I'd say you need to get a descent filter for starters. Maybe a HOB filter, or a small canister. For the lighting you can perhaps look at a phillips tornado light bulb 15W or 20W with a fitting or get a flex light to put over. (Desk lamps) won't be too expensive. Or get the conventional light from the lfs.

For the plants you need to decide what will be kept in the tank (Low, Medium or High Tec plants). This will also affect the lighting for the tank. For substrate you can get either Seachem Fluorite or ADA Aquasoil if you want the medium tec or high tec planted tank. You can also look at doing the pfp and pfs method (Pool filter sand) to save money.