Killifish

Discussion in 'Killifish' started by SVANZYL1982, Jul 19, 2011.

1. SVANZYL1982

SVANZYL1982

Hi Guys
    I'm new to this whole post thing, and to this website ... and to breeding fish, it's a hobby I'm trying to start for my son (but I have developed a keen interest). Can anyone tell me where I can get Killifish eggs (besides PNP or homemark where they 're ripping you off) and then maybe a few pointers on hatching them.

Thanks

2. Guest

3. Cheetah

Cheetah Retired moderator

Killis is a very sensitive subject to discuss on this forum SVANZYL, as they are generally banned and blacklisted in SA... I myself have had 2 (or 3) topics on Killis closed by the Moderators, so I'll suggest (being new)..... to get a list of all black listed fish and plants (ak Henk Hugo) and refrain from discussing those here...... BTW!.... Welcome to the forum.

4. MItchell

MItchell

Welcome to the forum!
    Most Killis arent Blacklisted, only 4, all Nothos. I currently have about 3 species but getting 2 more soon. Please put your location in your profile, others on the forum have a larger variety than me.

5. OP
    SVANZYL1982

SVANZYL1982

To Cheetah - What does blacklisted mean? Is it illegal? Why ? Who are the moderators? I know I sound very naive and inexperienced (which I am) but like I said, I 'm new to all of this!

To Mitchell - Will complete location now and I assume the killis from Homemark are n't blacklisted or else they would n't by sold..... I assume...

6. Cheetah

Cheetah Retired moderator

Yes.... Blacklisted fish are illegal to keep... just click on the link below and peruse the list...... I would think that the main reason for blacklisting fish in SA would be that they are all fish which are compatable to our water conditions..... People getting fedup with their fish release them in the dams and rivers and they survive and flourish causing an upset in the indigenous balance in our eco-system.....