Ideas for new Fish room?

Discussion in 'Anything DIY related' started by Wickets, Aug 4, 2012.

1. Wickets

Wickets Scalare

Hi,

I just bought a new house, and I will be fitting a room of about 4m x 5m as a fish room. I will be doing the following, but I am looking for new ideas before I start:
    1) A open drain system will be cut into the floor for easy water changes. (Fitted with a water trap to conserve heat.)
    2) The whole room will be lined with 50mm polistyrene.
    3) There is an existing chimney, so I will fit a coal or gas heater, even if its just for emergencies.
    4) Alternate roof sheets will be replaced with clear fibreglass.
    The room is not part of the house, so damp is not a problem. Please let those ideas roll in before I begin. (Probably in 2 months time.)

2. Guest

3. Zebra Pleco

Zebra Pleco Administrator

I'm no scientist, but that sounds like a bit of a risk to me, open flames consume a lot of oxygen, and with being in a closed room this may considerably reduce the oxygen content in the room thereby affecting your ph in your tank water. Just something to think about, I may be completely wrong. I have read of guys in colder countries that actually have air stones pulling air in from outside the house due to the high co2 content within the house because of the central heating and the windows and doors being closed all day every day.

a LOT of your heat is lost through the roof, so I would advise insulating as much of it as you can.

4. OP
    Wickets

Wickets Scalare