Discus

Discussion in 'General Discus discussions' started by pHish_man, Jun 12, 2012.

1. pHish_man

pHish_man Discus

Hi guys

There seems to be a surge at the moment in the interest of discus. People are having their fish spawn @Marco, @jpvd007 and I know @farmer. So thought I would share a few pics of my own discus that im in the process of growing out.

For those with a critical eye @Dirk Bellstedt, @aquazulu, @Marco etc please crit these fish as they are part of a group of youngsters that Im growing out for the intention of perhaps getting a pair eventually. Be ruthless as I dont wish to one day breed with something that has a flaw that I havent noticed.

The low down is this is my first real attempt at growing discus out, so I am still a total newbie. It was my opinion that I needed to keep these fish parallel to a vast amount of reading and discussion, to see first hand the result of the basics.

My experience having kept these fish for only 3 months so far is the following:

a) bare-bottom tank is the ONLY way i will ever attempt growing out discus. Period. No discussion.
    b) Prof Dirk's food is the only food my discus get and I think their health and growth rate shows why ( i try and manage 9times a day - thank you Petro )
    c) I try and maintain a stable/constant pH ( 6.5 ) and a temp between 29-30C
    d) Offer the fish huge amount of water volume as they eat a lot and therefore always mess a lot
    e) it helps to have someone nearby who knows discus and for that, once again thank you to Dirk and Marius ( @farmer ) who have been extremely supportive.

The fish pictured were all bought as 4.5-5cm juveniles on 7 March 2012 so ive had them just over 3 months now. Still quite some time before i'll get any possible pairing, but they are now starting to develope some adolescent colouration, so thought i'd share some pics. They are a group of 12 that are in a 325litre cube tank and will shortly be moving to their new 700litre tank ( volume without sump ).