CO2 indicator questions

Discussion in 'Beginner Discussions' started by Ross, May 8, 2019.

1. Ross

Ross

Hi,

I'm new to the forum, looked for answers for my question and found some interesting details but not exactly what I am looking for.

I am new to the aquarium hobby, and have a 30 l tank, about 22 l of water after substrate and rocks. I am interested in going to a bigger tank with plants in time, so using this tank as my learning tank.

I bought the Ista CO2 16g disposable defuser kit a while back. So you know, I don't have any plants that NEED CO2, but as I said as a learning tank I want get to as much right as I can before going bigger. Mostly have amazon sword and java moss, with 1 or 2 other water column feeding plants. Ludwigia Red leaf stuff. So again I know the plants don't need the CO2.

But here is my question, when I first got the kit and used it, the Ista all angle view CO2 indicator I have went from blue to green in about a day after 1 or 2 doses of CO2. Then I had some ich/ick (which ever it is) issues and had to focus on that so I left the CO2 alone for a bit. Now the ich/ick problem has been sorted for a few weeks now, and I started getting back to my normal routine.

However, for over a week now the CO2 indicator will not change colour, it stays blue, even with dosing once a day, I even dosed CO2 twice in one day to test, but nothing. And I know the test takes 2 - 3 hours to reflect. I replaced the fluid, and even got a JBL CO2 indicator in case it was an issue with the first one. But both now stay blue. I know the indicators actually measure PH and not CO2 directly. But I can't figure out why it worked before and not now? I slowed down my Aqauclear 20 HOB flow to the lowest it can go, as I read water disturbance can cause CO2 injection issues.