Breeding Bettas?

Discussion in 'JHB Aquarists' started by Cookie, Mar 26, 2012.

1. Cookie

Cookie

Hi everyone! Newbie here :cheesy:

So I'm looking into starting to breed some bettas :amuse: I've had one which sadly died and have just added a new boy into our tank and am starting to realise I'm actually kind of addicted to the different colours, fin types and variations! So I'm looking to hopefully start breeding them :cheesy:

Is there any advice anyone has? The main things I would like to know more of are:

- Good previous breeders/stores that have good quality males/females to select for breeding (preferably in the Randburg area)
    - Best conditions for breeding Bettas
    - Is it possible to mix tail types? Such as a veil tail with a crown tail?
    - Best results anybody has had before! (and pics if there is anyone with some :amuse:)

I think I'm covered with the basic info, but if anyone has any advice/suggestions they would like to make.. PLEASE throw anything you want at me!

Thanks!
    -Kay

2. Guest

3. BBQ

BBQ

Give the following hennieroux,charles,wyren a shout
    I know they are biggggg fans of these fish and breeds them
    I have one as well but not breeding him or not as yet
    till i can get all the info i need :D

HTH

4. Charles

Charles

Hi @Cookie, @HennieRoux is right up your ally. Check out the 'Breeding' forums, you're sure to come right there. I breed Betta's for the passion I have for them as well. You can also check out my thread on 'Breeding New Imported Betta's' by Charles. Welcome to TASA and I agree that betta's are addictive, I have nearly 1000 of them all in all.

Last edited by a moderator: Oct 2, 2016
  5. BBQ

BBQ

See I knew Charles would be here in a flash of lighting.. LOL

6. Charles

Charles

You don't say @BBQ...lol

7. BBQ

BBQ

All I can say for you my friend! is that ur addicted!
    Talking of which, I must still come get some advice from you.

8. OP
    Cookie

Cookie