Another cycling thread, about using the 'products'

Discussion in 'Beginner Discussions' started by marlon, Dec 17, 2013.

1. marlon

marlon

Hello everyone

I can only assume that fish forum regulars are fed up with "cycling" threads, but this one is simply a result of just not being able to target my exact query on google.

The Intro:
    Firstly, I care for all things in the tank, plants, fish and bacteria. And I am new to it all, and so is the tank.
    Secondly, I have no fish in there, just some 8.5ph water, some decor, and a few plants.

The query:
    I bought my setup from a very reputable, knowledgeable shop. And when I got everything, they took a lot of time to tell me not to get fish. Happy about that, I asked what I should do.
    They sold me seachem prime and stability, with some directions about the daily dose, for 5 & 10 days, before adding fish.

The past weekend, I went to another reputable shop, in the bergvliet area, and the nice guy assisted me greatly. I asked him again, about how to do it, since I was not sure. He too told me, Seachem prime and stability, so many capfuls for so many days.

Nowhere, can I find an answer to the question: "Do I still need ammonia doses, if I use these two products?".

I have as much time as it takes to do it right, and I want to know I am doing it right, but it is not several days later, and all I am seeing on my tests (and recently acquired in-tank alert tabs) is 0.0 ammonia, and negative results for nitrite and nitrate.

So I am not sure how to do this.
    Shall I continue the daily doses of prime and stability?
    When can I expect any readings? and should i think about adding ammonia?

Or:
    Am I supposed to add fish soon, and then take it from there with meticulous monitoring, and make sure the ammonia produced by the livestock, will not spike out, while continuing to use stability for a while?

I am confused, and lost between then 6900 opinions between 3 shops and a few blogs.

Please help :)

2. Guest