Allow myself to introduce myself... :)

Discussion in 'New members' started by RelaxWithFish, Jun 21, 2020.

1. RelaxWithFish

RelaxWithFish

Hi everyone, RelaxWithFish here!

So I am not a complete noob when it comes to forums or to fish, although it’s been over 25 years since I’ve had a pet fish, and it looks like the fish keeping bug is biting me again - so I have signed up here to connect with local fish heads, or whatever freshwater enthusiasts are called. I am based in Gauteng, Johannesburg.

I had a tropical community tank in my room when I was younger, and I can remember spending hours watching fish and reading tropical fish magazines from cover to cover (when I could find one, they were pretty pricey and hard to find). I had guppies, neon tetra, an angel fish and some khuli loaches. I started off taking my water to my LFS to get it tested, but that drove my parents mad, so eventually we got a test kit, and I managed to some how get a stable tank up and running which I maintained for about six months or a bit longer.

Unfortunately, being a kid, I messed up my tank one day after a water change and some maintenance. I landed up leaving an air stone and some tubing partially connected to an air pump, and it obviously disconnected after an hour or two. I’m sure what followed is a common occurrence, waking up the next morning to the water all on the floor and a tank of dead fish - hopefully one never makes that same mistake twice, but my parents weren’t willing to give me a second chance (don’t blame them) and I think they ditched the tank to a family friend not long after.