15l Shrimp tank

Discussion in 'Species Tanks' started by TetraJacques, Sep 18, 2019.

1. TetraJacques

TetraJacques

Hi TASA,

My second project is about to kick off this weekend. This time I want to setup a shrimp specific tank.

Are there any thing specific that I actually need to do that's not normal to a planted tank setup ? I'm a complete noob when it comes to keeping shrimp but I do have quite a couple of them at the moment that I would like to move to their own dedicated tank.

The tank size is about 15l. I was thinking of creating a nano iwagumi style tank. The substrate I want to use is Amazonia or similar. I still have a couple of petrified wood stone that I would use as well for the setup. Because of the tank size I thought of using a HOB filter as it wouldn't take up space in the tank.

Any suggestions you guys have regarding style of the tank and plants perhaps? I can always just use cuttings from my current setup.

2. Guest

3. necris

necris

i will be following along, have a 35l shrimp tank idea forming for once my 54l has settled.
    as far as i have seen a coarser grain substrate is preferred, but i am assuming it will be the same or similar between tanks.
    what shrimp do you currently have?

4. OP
    TetraJacques

TetraJacques

No problem let's call this @TetraJacques / @necris thread lol :thumbup:

I did some research a long while back and it seems they prefer a planted substrate like Amazonia. But I see some people use sponge filters with a normal air pump. I was just wondering why. I'm also aware that the very sensitive to metals so rock choice is very important. I have cherry shrimps.

Last edited: Sep 18, 2019
  5. necris

necris

have sen a few vids where they feed quite heavily off the algae on sponge filters, i would assume due to their size and potential of breeding sponge would avoid them being pulled into the filter intakes etc

6. OP
    TetraJacques

TetraJacques